Ads by Google

How To Change Password In your Account?

The revamped login process of Gmail ensures that user accounts are more difficult to hack into. For that reason there are several guidelines and measures that have been adopted. Even though you are required to set your account password at the time of creation of account; you would be prompted to revisit and change the password every few months to make it more secure.

The steps to change the password in your account are the following:

  • Log on to your account.
  • Visit the Settings section found on the top right hand corner of your email inbox.
  • Here you need to visit Accounts and Import section.
  • Under this section you will find the option to change the password.
  • You would be asked to choose a password that has not been used previously; also the password should be at least eight characters long, a mix of alphanumeric characters and special characters as well.
  • There can be upper and lower case alphabets as well in your password.
  • In order to enhance security of your account, you would also be prompted to update additional account information.
  • These pertain to updating your secondary email address as well as a contact number.
  • Once these details are updated you can also choose to activate the two step verification process.
  • This will seek an additional security code to be keyed in when you log into your account.
  • This security code is either emailed to your secondary email address registered with Gmail or to your registered phone number.

The above steps showcase how you can update your  password as well as update your account security settings.

There can be a common reason when you need to reset your password; that is usually when you are trying to access your Google account from an unknown device or a new location. At such a time if you have forgotten your account password, you would be required to reset it. This can be done in the following ways:

  • You would be asked to provide your alternate email address.
  • You could choose to get a security code on your registered phone number or a link to reset password at the alternative email address.

The above steps showcase how one can change their account password.

Ads by Google

How To Turn Off 2-Step Verification?

The two step verification feature was added in Gmail to ensure that users do not find hacking activities happening on their accounts. This process helps to safeguard one’s account login process more than the standard password entry feature. It comprises of having to key in an additional security code that is either sent as an email to your secondary email address or sent as a text message to your registered phone number.

How the two step verification works?

Those who wish to use the two step verification feature can do so by accessing the settings section of their Google account:

  • This would require one to key in additional information or a security code that is emailed to one’s alternate email address or sent as a text message to one’s registered phone number.
  • This process is activated every time one needs to log into their email account through a new device or a new location.

The process of having to key in the password as well as the additional security information for your Gmail login can make your account login a lengthy procedure. For such reasons many people wish to turn off the two step verification feature. Though it is recommended that one keeps the additional layer of security for logging into their account, there is the option to deactivate the two step verification method as well.

The steps to follow are:

  • You need to visit the My Account section under Settings.
  • Here you will find a section titled “Sign in and security”.
  • Here you will find the two step verification feature.
  • You might be asked to sign into your account with username, password as well as verification code.
  • After that you will find the option to turn off the feature.
  • A pop up window will come up to verify that you wish to turn off the two step verification feature.

Once the feature is turned off you will find that your login requirements have reverted back to simply the password being asked at the time of logging into your account, especially when you are trying to access the account from a new computer or unknown location.